Magnolia grandiflora

I’ve noticed that my Magnolia grandiflora has opened the first of its flowers today – normally, it doesn’t start until mid-July. Flowering is then spasmodic until autumn, the last of the flower buds usually succumbing to frost before they can emerge.

It’s a great plant, making a large tree eventually, with glossy, evergreen leaves. In my draughty garden, it benefits from the shelter of a west-facing wall, bathed in sunlight from mid-day onwards.

For details of my 8 July day course at Lamport Hall – GARDEN DESIGNERS’ FORUM – please visit my website (andrewmikolajski.com) or drop me an email on andrewmikol@btinternet.com.

Leave a Reply

