Bacon and egg salad

Not sure what to have for supper and needed something quick – meeting my publisher for lunch tomorrow, so needed to spend time getting sorted for that.

Salads are easy, and guests often ask me how I make my dressing, as if there is some mystique about it. Pound sea salt with black peppercorns in a pestle and mortar, but not to a powder – I like some of the peppercorns to be merely broken. Add a teaspoon of a grainy mustard, then a few tablespoons of balsamic vinegar*. Stir in olive oil.

It’s impossible to be precise about quantities – sometimes you want a sharp, vinegary dressing, at other times something more unctuous and bland. And I no longer bother with garlic.

Knobbly-skinned avocados usually have a better flavour and texture than smooth ones

Knobbly-skinned avocados usually have a better flavour and texture than smooth ones

I opened one of those bags of leaves from the supermarket, and added an avocado, asparagus (microwaved), two boiled eggs, halved, and strips of bacon fried to a crisp in a little olive oil. This can’t be too fatty, as I like to pour this straight over the prepared salad, and the fat is likely to congeal on the plate unless it’s very lean. When you serve the salad, all should be lukewarm.

*I am a convert to this – I used to use only wine or cider vinegar, but now I find these too insipid. The balsamic vinegar has extra depth.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

