Lunch with my publisher

Had lunch with my publisher – a perk that’s all too rare. We met in Marylebone High Street, not so very far from where I had my first books-related job. That was way back in the 20th century, and the area has changed considerably. Then this part of London had a village feel – most of the people milling around had the air of actually living there – whereas now it is just another smart shopping street. Nice to be out of the house all the same.

There was a certain amount of work to be done – deconstructing my last book and kicking around ideas for some new ones. But more often than not, a publisher will originate the ideas themselves, looking to plug what they see as a gap in their own catalogue – so who knows what I’ll end up doing. A strange business, this freelance author malarkey.

My last book for Marabout, Sculptures vegetales - alas, I know of no plans for this to be published in English

My last book for Marabout, Sculptures vegetales - alas, I know of no plans for this to be published in English

But it’s always good to come home – and after rather unsettled weather pleasant to be able to spend some time sitting out in the garden with the bats swooping overhead.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

