My Ficus

Ficus benjamina – the weeping fig – has the reputation of being a virtually indestructible houseplant. I beg to differ – I have killed more than one in my time.

The stems of my Ficus have been grafted together as a lattice

The stems of my Ficus have been grafted together as a lattice

I acquired the specimen shown here, with stems grafted as a lattice, in 2008, and sure enough, by the end of the year it was looking very sad, having shed most of its leaves. It’s been outdoors for most of the summer, and it  eventually – eventually – perked up after weeks of standing around in the rain. Inside now, it has been looking sad again, so I took advantage of today’s mild drizzle and stood it outside the back door. It can come back in tomorrow, which is forecast dry.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

